As it rains, I fear death.

Experience with Rain recently has made some serious realisations for myself. Things I view today when it rains is really different than what is used to be. Won’t mention anything about the officials for the time being, but going to narrate you some of the things I’ve felt so far.

Date, 13th JUNE ’17.

My first day to college. I was really keen and anxious and felt like a grown up kid that day. Ofcourse, it was really hard for me to wake up at time but the excitement truly overcame everything at once. As soon as I got off my bed, I realised it was raining. Raining not at a great velocity, but I really hate to go somewhere in such situation.

Well, with my wet school bag and uniform I entered into campus for my first day in college. It was to be half holiday on that particular day. And to be honest, I really like the idea of Half Holidays. Also, that day I was given Rs. 50 by my Mom and was asked to come home myself because she really wanted me know about the links of the Tempos & Buses. Nevermind, I had backup plans for myself but it never worked.

As school got over, and it was continuously raining since morning, I assumed there should be water logging at places. And all of a sudden there was no route left for me to reach home. No route, no transportation, no communication and I felt I’M LOST SOMEWHERE. I really got frightened cause, I’ve never had such experience before.

My dad’s office is in Bamunimaidan, which was nearly 10kms away from my school. At that point of time I felt anything I get will be the most helpful thing ever. Auto rickshaws were charging Rs. 800, while Taxis where asking for Rs. 300 for places that usually cost Rs. 80-100. Even they were not at places closer to my pick up point.

My friend’s mother came to pick him up, but he already left with one of his friend. And so I was “rescued” by his mother for that particular moment. He stays in Pub-Sarania, which is close to Raj Garh which is another, “ROAD INTO RIVER” place of Guwahati. He helped me to get off to my father’s office, and by the time I reach there it was already 1:45pm. I was so happy for the half holiday, and was planning for some long naps after I reach home, but it was quarter to two when I reached my father’s office. I felt the relief, and I felt that I’m finally safe from those horrifying and devastating “ROADS CUM RIVERS”.

It was still raining, we were deciding which route to follow, but there wasn’t any single  way for us to reach home. We took the Chandmari route. There was traffic everyone. From the flyover, it seemed tiny car like boats are sailing through roads like rivers, well that’s the reality that no one can deny. On the way, I came to know about the two people who were electrocuted in the artificial flood. Well, that’s something shook me later.

It was 4:30pm, and we finally reached home. On road, we never felt like we would even make it before 6pm that day. I had severe head ache. I had my lunch very late and it was all messed up that day. Certainly a day I would never like to experience again.

Collage_Fotor

And today, all of a sudden I felt. Will I be able to come back home again, if I leave?

Now, this fear of getting struck in such conditions really frightened me bad. Today, 22nd June ’17, when It was raining outside, this was the very first thing I had in my mind.

Today, when it rains I opt to look my parents and feel, will I come back home. What If the this artificial “ACT OF GOD” carries me away? I remember, my father used to tell me about the people living in countries like Afghanistan, and those of the countries facing the terror of evilness, where when children left for their schools and if there was a bomb blast or any sort of attacks, the parents would sit and pray to God for safety of their kids. Is the same happening to people living in Guwahati today.

The situation people face today during artificial flood is seriously dangerous. Deaths of people due to poor management of electricity is definitely something that the state should look upon and like taking credits for organising programmes, they should too take the blame which will absolutely make them earn our respect and love.

Today, when Dulal Malakar, the person who passed away due to this devastating tremor, there was no Ministers, no MLAs to take a look upon him but later did help them providing some financial benefits, but when these situations take place, they were busy promoting government schemes on their social handles. Busy on promoting programme worth Crores. There was not a single reference to these incidents that are happening as days are passing by.

TODAY, WHEN IT RAINS

I FEAR DEATH.

I FEEL,

WILL IT WILL BE MY LAST DAY?

THE LAST TIME,

I SEE MY PARENTS.

THE LAST TIME,

I LEAVE MY HOME.

YES,

TODAY WHEN IT RAINS,

I FEAR DEATH.

THIS IS DEDICATED TO THE SCHOOL AUTHORITIES OF GUWAHATI, TO THE ESTEEMED MINISTERS, MLAS, MPS.

FROM THE WRITER,

In this situation where even buses fail to cross the “ROADS CUM RIVERS”, schools are declared open and then exams are being appointed not thinking about those living in areas where even a rickshaw can’t attempt to visit. Schools should strictly maintain this because, if a student dies will they take the risk? Majority comes, that doesn’t mean minority will suffer. It is not politics, if you can postpone exams for cultural functions, why not for these devastations? If you take the risk, we’re on. Otherwise, find a better option.

Leave a Reply

